

To: Members of the Performance

Scrutiny Committee

Date: 23 September 2022

Direct Dial: 01824 712554

e-mail: democratic@denbighshire.gov.uk

Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the PERFORMANCE SCRUTINY COMMITTEE to be held at 10.00 am on THURSDAY, 29 SEPTEMBER 2022 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN AND BY VIDEO CONFERENCE.

Yours sincerely

G. Williams Monitoring Officer

AGENDA

1 APOLOGIES

2 **DECLARATION OF INTERESTS** (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act 1972.

4 MINUTES OF THE LAST MEETING (Pages 7 - 14)

To receive the minutes of the Performance Scrutiny Committee held on 14 July 2022 (copy enclosed)

5 SCHOOL CATEGORISATION ACCORDING TO WELSH MEDIUM PROVISION (Pages 15 - 26)

To consider a report (copy attached) by the Head of Education outlining the conclusions of the recent Welsh Government consultation on Language Categorisation and its implications for Denbighshire Schools and pupils.

6 HAFAN DEG, RHYL (Pages 27 - 36)

To consider a report (copy attached) by the Service Manager Business Support & Communities, on the effectiveness of the transfer of the facility and services to an external provider, KL Care, including the provider's progress in growing and expanding the services available at the centre, and the lessons learnt from Covid-19.

11:00 - 11:30

7 SCRUTINY WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 37 - 58)

To consider a report by the Scrutiny Coordinator (copy enclosed) seeking a review of the committee's forward work programme and updating members on relevant issues.

11:30 - 11:45

8 FEEDBACK FROM COMMITTEE REPRESENTATIVES

To receive any updates from Committee representatives on various Council Boards and Groups.

11:45

MEMBERSHIP

Councillors

Hugh Irving (Chair) Gareth Sandilands (Vice-Chair)

Ellie Chard Alan Hughes
Chris Evans Paul Keddie
Jon Harland Terry Mendies

Carol Holliday

Voting Co-opted Members for Education (Agenda Item No. 5 only)

Terence Flanagan Neil Roberts

Kathleen Jones

COPIES TO:

All Councillors for information Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils